how do you survive on your own · la la la lobby time · Uncategorized

don’t let the assholes get you down

We had another Special Snowflake weirdo that seems to think that if the trash can in his room is full he needs to get a new room or something.

He came down this morning and started in with my co-worker who is the nicest person in the world and whenever someone yells at him he just laughs. But you do NOT insult and or annoy my coworkers on my watch so I piped up to let this idiot know, hey there are two of us and while we value your business we’re not to be kicked around.

So box of crazy starts in on me, which hey I’m used to. Yell at me all you want, I seriously have no soul and it doesn’t bother me too much. What was he mad about?

He put the DND sign up before he went out the day before. He swears he took it down but when the DND sign is up my housekeeping staff won’t clean your room. You literally have to be on fire before we’ll go in your room with the DND sign up.

He starts in on me after I explain this to him about “how would you like it if I just put my food trash in the hallway then?” and honestly even though we hate that shit, we’d prefer it to listening to this shit at 7am.

From my time at one brand I just went into “Special SnowflakeMode” and offered him points. For some reason that doesn’t work where I work now so I tell him I can give him a discount of x amount.

He then tells me he’s going to check out early because someone didn’t empty his trash can. Okay. It gets better.

I’ll be me, he’ll be crazy guy.

Me:Sir I am prepared to give you 40 dollars off of your bill for the issues you have expressed, but if you would like to speak to a manager you will have to wait until 10am, as that is when my manager arrives.

CG: 40 dollars a night?

Me: No.

CG: well we are going to check out then and my wife is a member of the global world. she will ding you on the internet in a review. This is intolerable and you will not charge me for leaving early.

Full stop, I could and I should but I don’t do shit like that. I’m reasonable but when people are just asshats I want to charge the fuck out of them. Like I get it you think you’re getting shanked but do you burn your whole house down if your trash is full? No. Do you regularly sign contracts that you suddenly don’t feel like adhearing to? When it says you need to be with us for two nights on a weekend when we have a two night minimum, I am well within my rights to charge you if you’re leaving early, sorry. But I can. I won’t but I can.

Me: Sir I assure you that you will not receive a financial penalty for leaving us early. We are sorry that you are departing early but I understand. Would you like that discount or would you like to wait to speak to my manager?

CG: I’LL LET YOU KNOW

Me: inwardly i seriously don’t give a shit what you do Okay sir. It’s bacon day at the breakfast, which is across the driveway to the left if you’d like to enjoy something to eat while you decide.

Cue to me just going fuck this and going into the back and leaving my coworker I was trying to rescue to watch the desk.

My boss comes in later and I’m trying to explain what happened with this guy before she sees him. I’d already talked to housekeeping who had also shown me that they had actually serviced his room according to the log. There were already notes in his reservation that said he wanted to leave early. Fine fuck it, leave early, I need that fucking room anyway and I don’t need you. It’s the weekend. I could have sold that room while you were ranting at the desk.

My boss goes on a walk around of the property and ends up running into this lunatic. My boss is NOT someone to fuck with. And his guy grabs her shoulder to talk to her. My head of Maint. was ready to jump in because he happened to be on the floor this all was happening on. Head of housekeeping came by because Maint sent something up on the radio.

My boss tells Crazy Guy that touching her at all is inappropriate and he says “Sorry Babe”

Somehow the conversation they’re having goes towards Trump and all this other bull shit including where I apparently WAS going to charge this fuck for leaving early. And how I’m a liar. (What?)

My boss has my back though and just wants this dude to leave so she says we’ll discount the bill. She also held fast to if I said it was a 40 dollar discount, that’s what it is, but she would have offered him 50 dollars off, but if her desk said 40 its 40.

Anyway this asshole comes down to check out and thankfully my boss was there because the guy tried to start shit with me again and then tried to start shit with her about me again even though they’d already gone over all of this.

I got sworn at again and he was amazingly aggressive for an old guy and also accused us of lying about the math on the folio. About the time we were thinking about calling the cops he blurts out I HAVE DEMENTIA!

What?

We finally got his cheap ass out of there and I went home.

What the fuck? I seriously thought we were going to have to call the cops.

Leave a Reply

