how do you survive on your own · people on the phone · sold out! · Uncategorized · weddings can eat a bag of whatever is handy

What a beautiful wedding said the bridesmaid to the waiter…

I worked opening shift this morning and knew we had some weddings in the house but nothing prepared me for the bucket of wedding crazy I got from a guest in our 4th floor section today…

About an hour after check out on our property the house line rang and it was room 4XX. I’ll be me and the lunatic I spoke to will be Crazy Wedding Lady.

Me: Thank you for calling the front desk, this is (ME) how can I help you?

CWL: EXCUSE ME BUT OUR ROOM HASN’T BEEN CLEANED YET. DON’T YOU THINK IT’S KIND OF LATE?

Me: Sorry to hear that ma’am, but it is only 1 hour after our designated check out time, so they may not have gotten to your room yet.

CWL: DON’T YOU THINK IT’S KIND OF LATE?

Me: Check out is at noon here ma’am and it is now 1:00p.

CWL: Well I want my room cleaned now.

Me: Okay ma’am I’ll notify housekeeping.

So I pick up the radio and call housekeeping and think that’s the end of that but no CWL called back down in less than five minutes.

CWL: MY ROOM STILL HASN’T BEEN CLEANED. I THINK THIS IS REALLY LATE AND THERE ISN’T EVEN A MAID ON MY FLOOR YET. THIS IS REALLY LATE AND MY ROOM HASN’T BEEN CLEANED THIS IS RIDICULOUS IT’S ALMOST 2PM!

it was not almost 2pm. Try 1:05pm

Me: I have alerted HOUSEKEEPING to your concern and I am sure some one will be along soon.

CWL: I JUST THINK THIS IS REALLY LATE.

Me: Someone will be up shortly.

CWL: BUT I HAVE TO GO TO A WEDDING. HOW WILL I GO TO THE WEDDING IF MY ROOM ISN’T CLEAN?

I have no earthly idea what one has to do with the other but I digress…

A few minutes later the phone rings again and my partner answers and gets the other guest in CWL’s room. We’ll call him Crazy Wedding Man.

CWM: This is ABSURD. I CAN’T GET READY FOR MY WEDDING BECAUSE THIS ROOM HASN’T BEEN CLEANED!

Partner: Sir this is because you are a stay over guest and we do not clean the rooms of stay over guests while they are still in the room. A housekeeper is on their way with clean towels and we will make up your room when you are gone for the day.

CWM: BUT I CAN’T GET READY IF MY ROOM HASN’T BEEN CLEANED. AND I DID LEAVE THE ROOM FOR AWHILE TODAY.

Partner: Oh?

CWM: Yes I stepped out for THIRTY MINUTES AT AROUND 8 THIS MORNING.

Our housekeeping comes in around 9 or 10 Partner explains this and the man on the phone is wailing “HOW WILL I GET READY FOR MY WEDDING IF THE ROOM HASN’T BEEN CLEANED?”

I don’t know do you clean your own home top to bottom before you do anything every day? What the fuck did you do to your room that you slept in last night that makes it too vile to get ready in?

Then their wifi wouldn’t work and so of course this is also keeping them from getting ready for the wedding.

For the rest of the day whenever something wasn’t working properly or fast enough we just would look at each other and say “Oh (Maintanence) isn’t back from the dump run yet? It’s because 4XX’s room isn’t clean yet. He can’t come back until it’s clean”

“Printers jammed because 4XX’s room isn’t cleaned yet.”

“I can’t go over to the breakfast room and get plastic forks for another room because 4XX’s room isn’t clean yet.”

“How will I get ready to go home if 4XX’s room hasn’t been cleaned yet?”

I wonder how much of their stay they will want discounted for this tragedy..

Leave a Reply

