how do you survive on your own · la la la lobby time · sold out! · Uncategorized

no this guest was the most absurd guest I’ve ever had

Things have been batshit crazy at work lately. Sold out as fuck, learning the management styles of new bosses, trying to deal with shitty assed entitled people who see me as the world’s worst person because they can’t get a thing that they want. Malfunctioning shit everywhere and as usual I am alone.

The rub to the fact that I was alone was one of my coworkers called in sick today and the solution to that problem was to cut MY hours, because hey management can work longer if there isn’t anyone to cover my state mandated breaks. So I lost three hours of pay because we’re not staffed enough. Fuck that to start with.

Then I get there and guess who’s sold the fuck out again? Every goddamned hotel in town including mine. Awesome. And I am going to be alone except for our new GM who still doesn’t know how our operating system works and also thinks I’m an idiot because I don’t have time for coaching calls. I don’t even have time for my fucking check list. There are literally four lines blazing balls at a time and three to four to 10 people in front of me at all times. There are no rooms at any of the inns to deal with walk ins and of course again its non stop college parents wanting 90 sets of instructions and bitching about the coffee being empty when I haven’t even gotten away from the handset for long enough to check it out.

It is total fucking chaos. Everyone is calling down from rooms wanting something. Everyone checking in wants something extra. Everyone wants something we don’t have, rooms extra blankets, whatever. I’m fucking out of everything. Have some toothpaste,its free, everyone likes free shit. Here have two. I don’t care, what the fuck, let’s live it up.

I see the schedule for next week is up and I explicitly asked for my days off to be scheduled on two certain days because we’re finally having my aunt’s memorial service. This would be my favorite aunt who passed during my New Years Weekend shift and even though I was on the verge of tears, I worked right on through it and didn’t complain once to my customers or coworkers or anything. I made reservations at one of our properties for myself and my parents and requested that they schedule my days off on the days I need to be there over 2 months ago.

They gave me Easter off instead which I could give a shit about and scheduled me on the two days I asked for.

I have my parents reservations and they can’t check in without me and I fucking told everyone a long fucking time ago (confirmed by the way by the other property we’re staying at) that I needed to not work that day and the day after since we’re traveling so far. I was already pretty livid because I’m doing the job of at least 2 people and getting shorted on hours and now a very reasonable well timed request has been apparently annoyed.

Then came the real shit show…

Door locks failing are very very bad things. I get it, it’s frustrating. I know you’re frustrated. I don’t like fixing them anymore than you like being locked out of your room. I don’t enjoy doing so while being berated for the property which guess what, isn’t brand new. Shit breaks. THOUSANDS OF PEOPLE HAVE COME THROUGH MY HOTEL IN THE LAST THREE DAYS ALONE. Fuck it’s lifetime. Shit breaks. We don’t have an engineer or anyone but me on the property and if the ways I’ve been told to fix it aren’t working, calling me stupid, unprofessional, useless, telling me how shitty my property is and how you won’t be staying here again or how you’re going to get me fired or how your family is too important to be waiting to get into their room and asking me questions about why the management doesn’t give me the proper tools to fix things or doesn’t just replace everything at the same time at a volume that is enough to make several of our regular guests come out into the hallways and check to see if I was okay and basically making me cry, which is almost impossible because I don’t give an actual fuck once you raise your voice to me… well shit man you suck. And if I could get your door open I’d be doing it just to throw you and your family the fuck out because I was literally talked to like I murdered a dog i front of them because the door lock broke.

So I called and woke up every single manager I could because I was in tears and that’s not a good look and also because I uttered the phrase “I am ten minutes away from either leaving or calling the cops on this dude and it is our fault but I can’t spend all night fixing this door when I have 99 more rooms full of people needing things.”

Did I mention I was crying my eyes out and my other guests were super concerned that this guy was upsetting me further. One of my cop guests from my home town actually came out and stood in the lobby until my manager arrived.

The other manager I called said to comp Mr YellyPants room and to give them the tv remote and offer to buy them dinner out of petty cash, give them magic beans whatever. Make them happy again.

Yelly Man’s wife tore her husband a new asshole. He apologized eventually because I must have looked pathetic crying at the desk while a bunch of my regulars were glaring at him. Seriously someone went out and got me Easter candy, like they went to the store and bought me candy.

We finally got the door open and my manager that came down to help me told me to go check on the pool and focus on not freaking out for a few minutes and he’d cover the desk even though he was in jeans and a t-shirt and he’d already worked today.

I stayed a little late to help night audit catch up because I literally didn’t do anything to set him up at all tonight because it was such a shit show from the minute I walked in. Our new pt Night Auditor actually speaks and he was like “I will never work a day shift after some of the shit you guys tell me. But if I see room XXX show his fucking face again, I’ll throw him out.”

I wrote up the various things that went wrong and asked them to give the other three people who’s door locks failed but were cordial about it and literally just needed me to shove the black box in and reprogram them a shit ton of magic beans and noped the fuck out.

I am usually better than this but this was the night that I actually asked myself if I am tough enough for this.

One thought on “no this guest was the most absurd guest I’ve ever had

Leave a Reply

