how do you survive on your own · la la la lobby time · personal · the brotherhood of the keys · Uncategorized

the international federation of food aka i actually care about my guests

I had a very lovely girl check in with me today and she was one of my international guests. She informed me at check in that she and her friend were starving and looking for Halal food.

For those of you who don’t know, this means according to Wikipedia: Halāl (Arabic: حلال‎‎ ḥalāl, “permissible”), also spelled hallal or halaal, is any object or action which is permissible to use or engage in, according to Islamic law. The term covers and designates food and drink as well as matters of daily life.[1]

I had three places at the ready because I am the Siri of the Cartel and one I knew was specifically owned by Muslims which is a place I also suggest to non-Muslims because the food and hot tea is to die for and they have some interesting decor, etc. It’s a neat place and it’s great.

I sometimes wonder how my co-worker still has a job because while I’m giving these ladies four places they can grab a bite that are Halal he decides to interject himself into the conversation by loudly saying “what’s haaaal-laaal? some kind of A-rab stuf?”

Please someone kill me.

Instead I just told the ladies who owned which joint and asked them to ask for me personally if they needed anything. I also asked if they’d like me to make a reservation for them but they were okay with going on their own. The girl who reserved the room actually asked to shake my hand because I actually knew what she was asking for and had more than one spot that could take care of her and she was even more blown away that I knew of a Muslim owned business in my area that I frequently go to.

Seriously my front deskers, I know we don’t have a lot of time outside in the world but if you want to provide world class service, get outside of your head. Try every near by place to eat and learn the differences in diets. Halal doesn’t mean vegan, it doesn’t even mean Kosher. Learn what’s around you.

I feel like a broken record saying this stuff but I get asked how I do my job so “well” so often that I felt like passing this all on. If someone has a dietary issue or a religious issue regarding food, don’t get pissed, get organized and find somewhere they can eat. Like for real go try the “weird” places in your town and at least have the knowledge that it’s clean or what the prices are.

Even if you are working at a hotel that’s the bottom rung of the world in BumbleMcPoopLand you should be aware that people of all backgrounds will be staying with you. I get so irritated at my coworker because he literally doesn’t think other people, other cultures exist or he doesn’t care.

Learn your local food scene. Be Siri. Be better than Siri. Life will reward you.

Leave a Reply

